2024 Ranking: List of Top 10 Best Universities in Nigeria Emerges

At a glance: Nigeria’s 10 best universities for 2024

  1. Covenant University
  2. University of Ibadan
  3. Federal Univ of Tech, Akure
  4. University of Lagos
  5. Bayero University
  6. University of Ilorin
  7. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  8. Afe Babalola University
  9. University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  10. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

THE 2024 ranking: Brief profiles of Nigeria’s best universities

Below is the complete list/brief profiles of the top 15 best universities in Nigeria for 2024 (according to Times Higher Education 2024 ranking):

1. Covenant University

Covenant University is placed in No.601–800th globally.

Covenant University is a private Pentecostal Christian University which has been operating with official status since 2002 in Ota, Nigeria.

The university has four colleges: The College of Business and Social Sciences; the College of Leadership and Development Studies; the College of Engineering, and the College of Science and Technology.

2. University of Ibadan

Founded in 1932, the University of Ibadan (UI) was the first university to be established in Nigeria. Originally an affiliated College of the University of London, it was granted full independent status in 1962.

The university offers a broad range of academic programmes across its 16 faculties that include: arts, science, basic medical sciences, clinical sciences, agriculture, social sciences, education, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, technology, law, public health, dentistry, economics, renewable natural resources, and environmental design and management.

3. Federal University of Technology Akure

The Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA) is located in Akure, the capital city of Ondo state.

There are 10 schools at the university including life science, physical science, earth and mineral sciences, environmental technology, engineering and engineering technology, agricultural and agricultural technology, logistics and innovation technology, computing, postgraduate studies and the college of health sciences.

4. University of Lagos (UNILAG)

The University of Lagos (UNILAG) is a public research institution located in Lagos. It was established in 1962.

There are 12 faculties at the university including arts, clinical sciences, education, and engineering, law.

5. Bayero University Kano (BUK)

Bayero University is located in Kano, a city in northern Nigeria and the capital of Kano state. It is the second largest city in Nigeria after Lagos.

The first university in the state, it was founded in 1975 when it was upgraded from Bayero University College to a fully accredited university.

6. University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)

The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) was founded in 1975 and is based in Ilorin, the state capital of Kwara state.

Subjects on offer include agriculture, clinical sciences, medical sciences, law, education, engineering and technology, physical sciences, arts, pharmaceutical science, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and management sciences.

7. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

The University of Nigeria (UNN) Nsukka is a federal university in Enugu. It was founded by Nnamdi Azikiwe (Governor General of Nigeria from 1960 to 1963 and first President of Nigeria from 1963 to 1966) in 1955 and formally opened in 1960.

UNN operates 102 academic departments across 15 faculties and offers 82 undergraduate programmes and 211 postgraduate programmes.

8. Afe Babalola University

Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti is a private university located in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti state.

Afe Babalola University, founded in 2009, is located on 130 hectares of land.

9. University of Benin (UNIBEN)

The University of Benin (UNIBEN) is located in the city of Benin in Edo state. It was established as an Institute of Technology in 1970, became a university in 1971, took its current name in 1972 and became a federal institution in 1975.

Students study across two campuses, the Ekehuen campus and the main Ugbowo site.

10. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB) is one of the three federal universities of agriculture created by the Nigerian government in 1988.

It moved to its present location, a 10,000-hectare site 10 miles outside of the city of Abeokuta, capital of Ogun state, in 1997.

It is divided into colleges of environmental research management, animal science and livestock production, agricultural management and rural development, plant science and crop production, biological science, food science and human ecology, engineering, physical science, and veterinary medicine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *